Info: Venafi services

Venafi Services

The Venafi Trust Protection Platform has 2 distinct processes that execute on the server. These are the “Venafi Log Server” and “Venafi Trust Protection Platform” services. Additionally, all web interfaces run as .NET web applications within IIS 7.5. The following is some baseline information about each of these processes.

Venafi Encryption Director Service (VED)

Process Name



This is the primary Venafi service. It is responsible for all certificate operations, notifications, reporting, discovery, validation, and daily tasks. This service will make a connection to the SQL database every 60 seconds (default) to check for work to do.


Stop: net stop ved

Stop: net start ved


Venafi Log Server Service (VenafiLogServer)

Process Name



This service is responsible for receiving log events from the local, and any remote Venafi Platform processing engines. In Director environments version 11 and prior, there could be a primary and secondary log server in an environment. All other instances of the Log Server Service would be disabled.

In Venafi Trust Protection Platform version 14.1 + there is only a single central log server, however all engines run a local instance of the log server to cache log entries if the central log server is unavailable. Therefore, the VenafiLogServer service should be enabled and set to Automatic on all 14.1 or greater servers.

In TPP 15.3 + we changed log processing again, multiple instance of log server can now be installed, these instances are then responsible for picking up events from the service broker queues in the DB, processing the data(sending any notifications if needed) and then writing the logs to the log tables.

Stop: net stop venafilogserver

Stop: net start venafilogserver


World Wide Web Publishing Service & IIS Administration

Process Name


Svchost.exe (iissvcs)

All of the Venafi Platform web interfaces, including non-user interfaces such as the 14.1 REST Client and REST API (WebSDK) interface, are hosted as part of the standard IIS process.


Typically these services are stopped and started using the “iisreset” command:


Stop: iisreset /stop

Start: iisreset /start

Restart: iisreset



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful