When a certificate is replaced, the old certificate goes into the Previous Versions of the new certificate.
The certificate at this point is still valid (unless it is expired). All of the certificate information is retained and you still have the option to Revoke the certificate.
This is the status after revoking the certificate
You can also revert to the previous certificate